SmackDown 4/21/16 Results & Reactions

I’m writing this a couple of days after viewing SmackDown, so I’m leaving out match ratings during this recap article. I still have all of the results here and my reactions to everything, minus the Puerto Rico stuff from the Colon boys. What’s the point of all of that, anyways?

On to the show…

MizTV w/ AJ Styles

There’s some questions toward AJ here about whether or not Gallows & Anderson are colluding with the Number One Contender to the WWE World Heavyweight Championship or not, but the part I was loving the most was the interactions between Miz & Maryse. When Miz asked her to say “I love you again” simply so he can respond like Han Solo to say “I know,” I died laughing. This guys is money right now. Aj attacked Miz to end the segment.

Ryback def. Kalisto

This was a non-title match. It didn’t blow me away but it wasn’t bad or anything. I just don’t really care that Ryback wants to prove that his WrestleMania loss was a fluke. Kalisto went for his Salida Del Sol but Ryback countered it into a Shellshock for the win.

Baron Corbin Strikes Dolph Ziggler From Behind

I think these two were supposed to have a match together. Dolph was definitely coming into the ring for a match but never made it. Corbin attacked him while his making his entrance and gave him an End of Days on the floor. It was short and sweet. I’m looking forward to their eventual singles match. I assume that’s happening at Payback.

AJ Styles def. The Miz

I watched the first half of this one night and was too sleepy to finish it, so the first half of it was a blur to me. The ending was pretty strong as Anderson & Gallows prevented Miz from bailing on the match early. Miz ate a forearm while on the outside, followed by a Phenomenal Forearm in the middle of the ring. It was good from what I saw and added a new chapter to the AJ/Anderson & Gallows drama.

Finn Balor dropped his NXT Championship to Samoa Joe last night at an NXT live event. That doesn’t have anything to do with this particular episode of Smackdown but it does add to the intrigue of what could happen with these former New Japan stars over the coming weeks. WWE has a ton of interesting ways they can take this and I’m excited to see how it all plays out.

Dean Ambrose & Sami Zayn were in a backstage interview in which they discussed potential tag team names. It was mildly humorous. They keep giving Dean Ambrose cheesy stuff like this and attacks with hot dog condiments and making green slime pop out of briefcases, but I won’t complain too much. His charisma usually makes up for the weak material.

Anderson & Gallows talk about their first match on Raw against The Usos next week. They said they’re going to make an “Impact.” Get It?! That’s probably not what they meant.

Paige & Natalya def. Tamina & Naomi

I love Naomi’s glowing shoes. They need to sell those in kids sizes to I can buy them for my children. Natalya and Paige made their opponents tap out while they both applied submissions. Natalya challenges for Charlotte’s title at Payback, so win here makes sense. It’s good to see Paige on a winning team as well as she’s kind of been an afterthought in recent months.

R-Truth def. Fandango (With Special Referee Goldust)

Lots and lots of dancing here. I don’t mind the silliness and didn’t think they drug it out too long. R-Truth defeated Fandango, who tagged with Goldust in the tag tourney that’s going on. Truth and Goldust danced together post-match, which I’m guessing is their way of implying that they’re finally cool with each other now and will form The Golden Truth.

Promo Time With The Tag Tournament Finals Teams

Enzo & Cass were in the ring when they were interrupted by The Vaudevillians, who were at the top of the ramp. I think they’re finally presenting English & Goth correctly, having them being super proper and offended at the classlessness of their opponents. There was no big revelation but I hope that The Vaudevillians get this kind of mic time on Raw on Monday.

Chris Jericho & Kevin Owens def. Dean Ambrose & Sami Zayn

I don’t recall any gangbuster exchanges but I did enjoy this main event. There were too many hot talents to not. Jericho tripped up Ambrose while he was climbing the ropes, setting him up to be pinned by Kevin Owens. After the match, Owens and Jericho hugged like best buddies forever. There could’ve been more excitement here but it was still decent affair.

Final Thoughts:

I’m not a big fan of making secondary champions look like losers, but that’s what happened to U.S. Champion Kalisto and IC Champion The Miz tonight. I have less of a problem with it in The Miz’s case because he’s a slimy heel and lost slightly cheaply to a guy who’s main eventing the next Pay-Per-View. In the Kalisto’s case, I don’t see how a clean loss to a guy that doesn’t have much direction helps him in any way.

Miz was my favorite part of the show tonight. The guy is hilarious. The AJ Styles drama was furthered as well. That adds more intrigue to the main event at Payback. I just realized that the other half of that main event in a little over a week, WWE Champion Roman Reigns, was not on this show. There’s so much drama for Styles at the moment that his challenge to Reigns is kind of an afterthought to at all. That’s kind of strange.

Check out other recent show reviews from me for NXT and Lucha Underground, both great shows this week.

Find me on Twitter @MitchNickelson and give me follow. Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

