WWE Fast Lane Predictions

Here are my Fast Lane picks! I’ll keep the intro short but I will mention that I didn’t do any sort of pick for the Triple H/Sting confrontation. It’s not a match but rather a setup for their Wrestlemania match. I’m glad they’re making their angle special but there just isn’t anything to really call from a “Predictions Article” standpoint. Anywho, let’s get to it.

Goldust vs. Stardust at WWE Fastlane 2015

Stardust vs. Goldust

My hope for this match is that it’s a setup for a Wrestlemania encounter. Stardust should ultimately win that match and it could be a special moment for the entire Rhodes clan. Regardless, Fast Lane is a free PPV so this should set things up. The older brother will this bout until he loses the war.

Mitch’s Pick: Goldust

WWE Tag Team Champions The Usos vs. Cesaro & Tyson Kidd

The Usos (w/Naomi) vs. Tyson Kidd & Cesaro (w/Natalya)
Tag Team Championship

This is a complete toss-up for me. I haven’t followed much of whatever storyline has been put into this but I think that there’s a Total Divas angle to it. Naomi and Natalya feed into that side of things, I guess. This isn’t a moment of complaint though, because whatever brought these four men together in a WWE Tag Team Championship match is fine by me. I’ll pick Tyson Kidd & Cesaro for the win because they’re wrestling beasts and it would make me happy if they had a run with the gold. The Usos aren’t slouches either, so I expect greatness if it’s at least 12 minutes or more.

Mitch’s Pick: Tyson Kidd & Cesaro

Intercontinental Champion Bad News Barrett vs. Dean Ambrose at WWE Fastlane 2015

Bad News Barrett vs. Dean Ambrose
Intercontinental Championship

This is a match that I sigh a little over because I feel like both guys deserve way better. While The Shield was still together I would never have guessed that Dean Ambrose would be the guy that wound up on the lowest placing of the card, but that’s his current reality. He’s spent so many months being promoted as this ‘lunatic fringe’ who is a loose cannon on the mic and brawls like a wild man that his in-ring abilities have taken a real backseat. It’s cooled him off a lot. Hopefully him and Barrett can bring some depth to not only their ring-work but to the IC division as well. Both guys are great and I hope they’re given a chance to work a decent match. I’ll pick BNB retaining here.

Mitch’s Pick: Bad News Barrett

Ryback, Erick Rowan & Dolph Ziggler vs. Seth Rollins, Big Show & Kane

Dolph Ziggler, Ryback, & Erick Rowan vs. Seth Rollins, Kane, & Big Show

Another difficult match to call. Obviously many micro-feuds are being pushed through this big match but which team gets the upper had at the moment? I’ll go with the heels winning because I do not see Kane and Big Show winning whatever matches they do at Wrestlemania. This is their chance to get that upper hand. Between Ziggler, Ryback, and Seth Rollins there is plenty to be excited about in this match. Hopefully it gets a decent amount of time because multi-man matches are hard to screw up. Just give the crowd an ending sequence of 8 or so finishers back to back and that’ll get them on their feet.

Mitch’s Pick: Seth Rollins, Kane, & Big Show

Roman Reigns vs. Daniel Bryan
Winner Faces Brock Lesnar at Wrestlemania

So many possibilities for this. Does WWE stick to Plan A and have Reigns be the sole challenger against Lesnar at Wrestlemania? Or does WWE give in to the demands of the fans and switch to a Daniel Bryan/Brock Lesnar pairing? Or will there be a wacky finish and we get a triple threat match between Lesnar/Reigns/Bryan at the biggest show of the year? It’s a real toss up but I’m making the call the Reigns wins at Fast Lane and Bryan does not main event ‘Mania. I’d rather have Bryan in it, but my gut feeling is that WWE won’t do it.

Mitch’s Pick: Roman Reigns

Divas Champion Nikki Bella vs. Paige at WWE Fastlane 2015

Nikki Bella (w/Brie Bella) vs. Paige
Diva’s Championship

This is another match where I haven’t followed the storyline much. Both girls are talented wrestlers who rarely get the chance to prove it because they’re on the main roster. Brie actually aired here grievances about this fact at Indianapolis Comic Con, which I wrote about HERE. Since this is more of a setup PPV I’m leaning against many title changes. So with that in mind, I’ll pick Nikki to retain in what is hopefully a match that goes longer than 4 minutes.

Mitch’s Pick: Nikki Bella

Rusev (w/Lana) vs. John Cena
U.S. Championship

I’ve been hearing that this is the main event of the show but I could just as easily see Bryan vs. Reigns going on last. It doesn’t really matter to me either way. People might grumble about Cena taking the top spot on the card but at least we can be happy about Rusev’s first PPV main event if it happens. I definitely see Rusev retaining his title because WWE should (and will) save his first pin or submission for Wrestlemania 31. Personally, I wouldn’t have a problem with them saving his first real loss for Wrestlemania 32 but they’ll probably let Cena get the glory this year. Rusev will retain, but I’ll call Cena with a win by DQ or some technicality.

Mitch’s Pick: John Cena (but no title transfer)


So there are my picks. What do you think will happen at Fast Lane? Let me know your picks in the Comments Section below or hit me up on Twitter @MitchNickelson. Take care.

Leave a Reply

