Jim Ross on Royal Rumble, Alberto El Patron

Here’s another one of those pieces I do where I take recent comments from Jim Ross and I throw my opinion in as well. Check out JR’s blog at JRsBarBQ.com. You can also order JR’s BBQ products online at WWEShop.com.

J.R. on Brock Lesnar and this Sunday’s Royal Rumble PPV: “After all this speculation wouldn’t it be interesting if Lesnar retains Sunday in Philly and then headlines WM31 against either Bryan or Reigns? Lots of balls in the air it seems which keepr many fans like me on our toes trying to figure out what’s going on. I’ve found that it’s much easier to simply not over think these matters and just enjoy the events as they happen and then evaluate what one has seen.”

It’s always exciting when there isn’t a clear outcome to big matches like these. I have no idea who I’d pick to win the WWE World Heavyweight Championship match. I feel like Lesnar or Rollins will walk out with the belt but it’s never a done deal that Cena won’t win. I’m excited about this Sunday.

J.R. on the “Road to WrestleMania”: “The Rumble has the potential to really jump start the Road to WrestleMania and I’m anxious to enjoy it on the WWE Network. This is a great opportunity for WWE to get people talking about the Royal Rumble which in turn helps promote WM31.”

Who wins the Rumble? Roman Reigns and Daniel Bryan seem to have the most buzz, but depending on who wins the WWE title match then many other wrestlers become stronger candidates. If Cena wins, Rusev could realistically win the Rumble. If Rollins wins, Dean Ambrose could easily win as well. And if the WWE title match goes on first, can the losers of that match compete in the Rumble? Could Rollins lose the match, fail to cash in, then go on to defeat 29 other wrestlers for one more chance at the title? I’m definitely over thinking it at this point.

J.R. on Alberto El Patron’s Lucha Underground debut: “Saw Where Alberto El Patron made his debut on Lucha Underground which seems to be a good ‘get’ for the fledging promotion.”

Lucha Underground has proven it’s quality in it’s short history. Now that the former Alberto Del Rio is with them I’m all the more excited to tune in every week. As a former World Champion in WWE he’s got massive credibility to bring to their product.


Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @MitchNickelson. Also, check out the first edition of Curb Stomp Radio as Sgt. Damage and I talk about the latest in the UFC and WWE.

Leave a Reply

