Sami Zayn vs. Adrian Neville: Mitch’s Match of the Week

Welcome back to my weekly installment of what I consider to be a highly prestigious award, Mitch’s Match of the Week. With The Lego Movie getting a first-class Oscar snubbing many people might have a tarnished opinion of these sorts of awards, so hopefully I can help regain your trust. (Unless the best match of the week came from TNA or Ring of Honor. Since I didn’t view those shows they can be my personal Lego Movies for this week.)

What I did watch was the Hulu version of Raw, Main Event, Lucha Underground, only the first match from Smackdown, and the show to host what I consider to be this week’s finest match, NXT. The bout that I’m awarding Best Match to is a rematch from the main event of R Evolution and it’s the NXT Championship bout between Sami Zayn and Adrian Neville.

While I found Zayn and Neville to start off a few steps behind their previous encounter, I think much of that can be attributed to having to follow-up themselves from just a few short weeks ago. They set their own bar up way too high. Thankfully, plenty of time was given to properly build this match and the final few moments were off the charts good. Earlier in the match, Neville pulled off a particularly brutal Hurricanrana reversal off of an Electric Chair setup that legitimately made me concerned for Sami’s well-being. To top off this great match, Kevin Owens graced our presence to deliver a pretty sweet post-match beatdown on Zayn after his win. Check out the highlights for yourself…

This was a pretty decent week for the honorable mentions. Seth Rollins and John Cena had a fun Lumberjack match on Raw. Tyson Kidd and Finn Balor faced off in the NXT opener. Prince Puma defeated Felix in the first ever one-on-one match for Lucha Underground’s top prize. Lastly, Daniel Bryan faced off against Kane on Smackdown and showed virtually no signs of ring rust. Check out all of these matches alone with this week’s Match of the Week for a great playlist of quality professional wrestling.

What did you think of this week’s best match? Did I get it right? If not, put your comment below. Also, check out my new podcast over at Blog Talk Radio. It’s called Curb Stomp Radio and my buddy Sgt. Damage banters with me. Click HERE to give it a listen.

READ MORE OF MITCH NICKELSON’S WORK AT HIS MITCHNICKELSON.COM!
FOLLOW MITCH NICKELSON ON TWITTER

FOLLOW WRESTLING SMASH ON TWITTER
LIKE WRESTLING SMASH ON FACEBOOK

Leave a Reply

