WWE TLCS 2014 Quick Picks

Is TLCS the correct abbreviation? Probably not; that just looks odd. But regardless of what letters are the right combination, WWE will be bringing its annual Tables, Ladders, and Chairs (and now Stairs!) event to the city of Cleveland on Sunday, December 14th, 2014.

After an amazing NXT Takeover: R Evolution show took place mere days before, these main roster-ers have a bar before them that has been raised pretty darn high. Will they rise to the occasion? Maybe. There are definitely a few matches that could come together for something magical. I will be tuning in on the WWE Network to see the event.

As far as predictions go, well, that’s what I’m doing right now. Here are my picks with some brief thoughts along with them. I wasn’t too good on my NXT predictions so hopefully I’m a little luckier this time around.

The New Day vs. Gold & Stardust (Pre-Show)

This should be one of the easier calls of the night. New Day will win. I’m still rooting for the Rhodes boys to self-destruct and then they can  get their singles match against each other at Wrestlemania 31.

The Miz & Damien Mizdow (c) vs. The Usos
(WWE Tag Team Championship)

The Miz  & his stunt double have been one of the best things in WWE right now and I’m hoping that they still have legs under their run as tag champs. I like the Naomi stuff mildly as it’s brought out some Jimmy Uso aggression that I’ve not really seen before. But Miz and Mizdow are my picks.

Ryback vs. Kane
(Chairs Match)

While I find The Big Guy highly amusing (especially on social media), I don’t have much hope that this will be entertaining. Maybe they’ll prove me wrong but I’m rooting that the total minutes in this match doesn’t go into double digits. Ryback will win.

Erick Rowan vs. The Big Show
(Stairs Match)

I’m not sure what can be done with Stairs that we haven’t already seen before but since this is a new gimmick match for this event, maybe they’ve been brainstorming extra hard to think up something good. Erick Rowan is the newer singles guy that could use a W against a veteran, so he should win.

Rusev (c) vs. Jack Swagger
(United States Championship)

It’s hard to see this match-up and not point out that it’s a rerun. This was such a great angle from the summer but it’s pretty blah at this point. Rusev wins and Putin stays happy.

Nikki Bella vs. AJ Lee
(Diva’s Championship)

This one does feel like a toss up to me. Depending on if any of those ‘AJ is leaving WWE soon’ rumors are true then that could sway some people’s call in this match. I haven’t been paying attention much to this feud since Nikki won the title so I’m just going to pick Nikki without giving any reasoning behind it.

Intercontinental Champion Luke Harper vs. Dolph Ziggler in a Ladder Match

Luke Harper (c) vs. Dolph Ziggler
(Intercontinental Championship Ladder Match)

THIS is a match to get excited about. Mixing the danger of a ladder with Ziggler’s ability to sell with Harper’s creepy presence might be a recipe for an awesome match. I think that the period between this past Summerslam and the upcoming Wrestlemania could be Dolph Ziggler‘s Intercontinental Championship era, so I’m calling him to win. The Luke Harper reign will just be a roadblock in Dolph’s reign much like Miz’s one night takeaway of the IC strap.

Dean Ambrose vs. Bray Wyatt
(TLC Match)

This is another potential show stealer. Their match last month was just a preview for this match so I’m hoping they go full throttle on this night. The truly sad thing is that one of them has to lose. They’re both young stars who could use a big win like this to establish themselves in the top tier of the company. Dean Ambrose has been selling quite a lot of merchandise lately so I’m picking him to win. That way, WWE can tell their stockholders that they’re interested in the bottom line.

John Cena vs. Seth Rollins
(Tables Match)

I hope the Ambrose/Wyatt match goes on last but this one might instead. There’s a stipulation that if John Cena loses then he’s no longer the #1 Contender to Brock Lesnar’s WWE World Heavyweight Championship. I don’t really care about the stipulation because I don’t believe it. John Cena is perpetually in line for a title shot so even if he loses I can expect him to be back in the hunt within two weeks. I want to be optimistic and all call Seth Rollins to win but I’ll be safe and give the pick to John Cena. Although Randy Orton should be returning and interfering or something.


Well, there are my picks for the shows. I wasn’t as brief as I thought I’d be.

While you’re here feel free to catch up on my most recent episode of Mitch Nickelson Radio. Sgt Damage joined me as we discussed recent UFC happenings. Also, the mind-blowingly hot Rosie Piper helped me make picks for WWE TLC later in the podcast. I don’t remember what I picked on the podcast so I hope I didn’t contradict myself. But the bottom line is that you should click PLAY below and listen for yourself…

http://traffic.libsyn.com/mitchnickelson/MitchRadio_20141210.m

Leave a Reply

