NXT Takeover: R Evolution Predictions

NXT Takeover: R Evolution will be live on the WWE Network this Thursday at 8 p.m. Personally, I’m highly stoked as NXT has been putting on the most consistently good wrestling product today. So to get myself even more hyped about the event, here are my predictions with some brief thoughts about each match. (No Main Event review from me this week since it was all recap stuff.  I’ll get back on that next week.)

NXT Championship
Adrian Neville (c) vs. Sami Zayn
**If Sami Zayn loses, he will leave NXT**

Sami Zayn is way overdue to move up to the main roster. He’s more than ready and with that stipulation about him leaving NXT if he loses, then that seals the deal for me. I won’t be disappointed if he ends up winning the NXT title but I’m calling for Neville to retain.

Mitch’s pick: Adrian Neville

NXT Women’s Championship
Charlotte (c) vs. Sasha Banks

This is another match where I feel that one person is more than ready to move up to the main roster. I can fantasy book a stellar Diva’s division between AJ Lee, Paige, the Bellas, and Charlotte that produces entertaining, athletic, wrestling matches. My call is that Charlotte loses her title so that she can wrestle for the bigger title in the near future.

Mitch’s pick: Sasha Banks

NXT Tag Team Championship
Lucha Dragons (c) vs. The Vaudevillians

This one is a toss-up for me. The Vaudevillians are entertaining and could use a championship run to help establish themselves a little better. The same argument could also be made for the Lucha Dragons; they haven’t been champions for very long and a lengthier title run would do them wonders. I could see this going either way but I’ll pick the team of Aiden English and Simon Gotch because of how funny they are. Maybe this match will have a screwy finish to extend the feud?

Mitch’s pick: The Vaudevillians

Hideo Itami & Finn Balor vs. The Ascension

I am excited for this one. Itami & Balor are new to the brand and hopefully this will be the showcase that’s needed to really put them over to their new audience. I haven’t seen much of Kenta or Devitt before NXT so I’m eager to see what they can do.  There’s no reason for them not to go over The Ascension.

Mitch’s pick: Hideo Itami & Finn Balor

(no pic, sorry Bull and Baron)

Bull Dempsey vs. Baron Corbin

This is the one match I’m not really looking forward to. They’ve been doing super short matches to build this up and nothing makes me want to see either of those guys get more time than they’re getting. Hopefully they can prove me wrong but I’m rooting for Corbin to win in an even quicker time that some of his recent matches.

Mitch’s pick: Baron Corbin

Kevin Owens will also be debuting on this show. I’m hoping they insert him into a big matchup to show his importance. If Zayn loses like I’m predicting (to move up to the main roster) then I’d like to see Owens come out after the match is over and get in Neville’s face to become the next challenger for the NXT Championship.

Lastly, throw in a little Enzo Amore and you’ve got a recipe for a great show.

– – – – – – – –

Those are my predictions for the show. If you’re hungry for an even more thorough preview of the show then check out my most recent podcast with TJWrestling.com’s NXT guy, Brandon Lasher. He’s been covering NXT for quite a while and gave me his thoughts on R Evolution. Just click PLAY to listen…

Thanks for reading, take care.

2 thoughts on “NXT Takeover: R Evolution Predictions”

  1. I am excited for this show, so damn much. NXT is the best product on WWE television today! I’m also super excited for the debut of Kevin Owens. I’ve been watching his matches before NXT and wow, that man can go. Fight Owens Fight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

